Our Parish


Priests from the Parish

Former Vicars

About Church

Vellattanjur Fathima Matha Church is located in Velur Panchayath in Thrissur district. Vellattanjur Fathima Matha Church is the first Church in India which is dedicated to 'Our Lady of Fathima'. The long-awaited expectations of the faithful people of Vellattanjur, the first church was built in 1946 and on February 12th Mar George Alapatt, Bishop of Thrissur blessed and named the church as the church of 'Our Lady of Fathima'. During the year 1963, Rev. Fr. Joseph Thekkakara, Asst. Vicar of Velur Parish took initial steps to convert this church into the Parish. Read More

Mass Timings

Day Timings Events
Monday - Friday 6.15 AM - 7.30 AM Holy Qurbana
Saturday 6.15 AM - 7.30 AM Holy Qurbana, Rosary, Novena and Ladeenju
Sunday 6.15 AM - 8.00 AM Holy Qurbana, Novena and Ladeenju
Sunday 9.30 AM - 11.00 AM Catechism Holy Qurbana

Special Mass Timings

Day Timings Events
First Friday 5.30 AM - 7.30 AM Adoration, Holy Qurbana, Novena and Ladeenju
Second Saturday 9.30 AM - 12.30 PM Half Day Retreat, Adoration, Holy Qurbana, Novena and Ladeenju
13th Saturday 5.00 PM - 7.00 PM Adoration, Holy Qurbana, Rosary, Novena and Ladeenju

Fathima Matha Church Vellattanjur

The first fathima matha church in India

Family Units

Our parish is divided into eight units. Our family units are Fathima Matha Unit, St. Thomas Unit, St. Paul Unit, St. John Unit, St. Xavier Unit, St. Sebastian Unit, St. Joseph and St. Francis Unit.Read More


Religious organizations promote relations between human beings and divinities. Religious organizations typically aim to promote worship, prayer, meditation, teaching, healing, and spiritual well-being.Read More

Parish bulletin

Our parish is publishing a parish bulletin every monthly which we called as Fatima Nadham. It gives the complete details of the events that happened in the parish in the previous month. It also gives the information about the future events.Read More

Our Lady of Fathima

Our Lady of Fathima is a title given to the Blessed Virgin Mary with respect to reported apparitions of her to three shepherd children at Fatima in Portugal on the 13th day of six consecutive months in 1917, starting on 13 May.Read More

Syro Malabar Church

The Syro-Malabar Church is an Apostolic Church which traces its origin to the Apostolate of St. Thomas who, according to the tradition, landed at Kodungallur in AD 52 and founded seven Christian communities.Read More

Arch Diocese of Thrissur

Archeparchy of Trichur founded on May 20, 1887 by Pope Leo XIII by his Papal bull Quod Jam Pridem now covers an area of 2000 Sq.Kms. There are 16 Foranes and 215 parishes under the Archeparchy of Trichur.Read More

Cherupushpalayam Convent

Cherupushpalayam is one of the convents under CMC Nirmala Province which established in 1982. CMC Nirmala Province, one among the twenty Provinces of the Congregation of the Mother of Carmel.Read More

Pushpa sadan Convent

Pushpa sadan Convent is one of the convents under Preshitharam Sisters which established in 2014. The Congregation of Preshitharam Sisters was founded by late Rev. Fr. George Kochuparambil.Read More

Parish Chapels

A chapel is a christian place of prayer and worship that is usually relatively small. In our parish there are two chapels, which is located in the west and south side of the parish.Read More


Check out some of our images